Go Back   Scale Models > General Chat > Computer Help!

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-10-2005   #1 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
Dilemma exe ?

svchost.exe is a bona fide file used by Microsoft,however it is also the identical file name for the nasty little W32_Welchia.worm which gives Windows LSASS Vulnerability.

Since this morning I have suddenly had something from the internet constantly trying to get through my firewall with this name which I have put a block on ?

A search finds the following in- C:WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe now is this a genuine file or the little nasty ? when I attempt to remove it,it just says cannot delete this file ? what do I do ??
Will a spyware tool find it ? and if so which is a reliable one to use please ?

I am baffled how there can be two different applications,one ok and the other sinister for the same file name ? surely Microsoft should do something drastic there.

PS-Just checked my firewall block on this and it says-C:WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe does not contain a virus and comes from Microsoft corporation,this contradicts what it says above,who do I believe and what exactly is the function of this file ?
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 25-10-2005   #2 (permalink)
Guest
 
squiffythewombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canterbury
Real Name: Toby
My Models: ....lool.....thousands of kits..
Visit squiffythewombat's Gallery
Posts: 485
my turn to help you...yay!

svchost is a file that windows uses to launch dynamic link libary files (DLL's) and is quite essential within the windows envoirment. It is normal for more than one copy of the file to run as it is nessisary for various different applications and resource mangement programs. However it is also quite common for this file to be hijacked by various malware spyware and this is usally accompied with HEAVY registary edits.

It is possible for you to manually check the registary and files yourself but this is long winded and pratically impossible if you dont know what your doing. Have you installed any new programs or applications recently? have you updated any programs or changed any network settings recently? If you have its likelly that this is a legit change, if you havent i surgest the following;

1) Download and install "Microsoft Antispyware"! Run it and use the full scan option. (this is also a really good IE popup/hijack blocker)
2) Visit Trendmico.com and use their free online virus scanner (beware its not a quick process)
3) If these programs dont find anything, heres some more you can try: Adaware, Spybot-search & destroy, Dr.Spy, anything by norton or trendmicro.

If your still having problems or unsure pop me a bell and ill investigate some more...
squiffythewombat is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2005   #3 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
Toby,that is a mine of information for me and just what I wanted,it looks as if it started with a Nortons Firewall update so as you say looks kosha,numerous checks have found nothing sinister so it looks as if I got a bit paranoid,but better safe than sorry as there are so many nasties lurking out there,once more the hackers are getting very clever as you well know,this is a typical example.
Thank you for responding so quickly,it is much appreciated and you have been a great help to me.
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2004 - 2008 Scale Model Forums
Buy Anything On eBay | Savings Accounts | Mortgage Calculator | Bad Credit Loans | Secured Loans
ServInt Internet Services