Go Back   Scale Models > General Chat > Computer Help!

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2006   #1 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,596
Images: 49
Mystery feedback request ?

The vendor has filed a request to mutually withdraw feedback for the transaction shown below. eBay allows members to withdraw feedback for a transaction if they both agree it is no longer appropriate.

If you agree to this request, the feedback you received AND any feedback you left for this transaction will be withdrawn at the same time. Withdrawn feedback is no longer counted in the feedback score. If you have not left feedback for this transaction, you may still agree to this request, but you will not be able to leave feedback at a later date.

I dont know what this is all about ? the vendor says that he wants me to mutually withdraw feedback for item No.330001905999 a laptop,but I have never seen or had anything to do with this item ? does anyone know what this is all about,is it a trap to get me to respond ?
It seems to me that E-Bay is in a right mess unable to keep accurate check of things,a spoof at E-bay e-mail has been ignored by them ?
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-07-2006   #2 (permalink)
Founder
 
John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax
Real Name: John
My Models: rc cars & various model kits
Visit John's Gallery
Posts: 1,463
Images: 95
Ignor it, or login to your ebay account but not from the link in the email, and if it's genuine there will be a copy there, if not report it to ebay
John is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006   #3 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,596
Images: 49
I never thought of that John,it must be a spoof because it does not appear on my E-Bay page,wonder what that is all about ? probably trying to get me to click onto a link,thanks for the advice.
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006   #4 (permalink)
Moderator
 
GEEDUBBYA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Real Name: Greg
My Models: model planes tanks and helicopters as well as missiles and rockets
Visit GEEDUBBYA's Gallery
Posts: 1,030
Images: 329
HOwdy Guys,

These "spoofs" are also called "Phishing". the link given is wrong, all they want is your information. But the way they go about it plays on your sympathies too. You might have responded using their link, inadvertantly giving them your info, and all the while you were just trying to do the right thing by informing them or, maybe you was gonna go ahead and say you would "withdraw it" even though you had no part in it, thinking you will give someone a break. The only people you give a break to in cases like this are the people who are phishing.
Always go to a well know log in site to log in. Never use the link provided, if its real, you should be able to get to it thru the website or at very least be able to contact the company via their email link on the legitimate site.


Hope this helps, have a good day,


Greg aka GW
GEEDUBBYA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Bunkerbarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Halifax, Yorks: Nassau, Bahama's:Port Canaveral, USA: and all points in between.
Real Name: Richard
My Models: Robbe U-47, Deans Marine Cossack, Steam Coaster, Revell U-Boat, Motorcycles.
Visit Bunkerbarge's Gallery
Posts: 3,715
Images: 230
Smile

Barry,

GW has it in one. I have reported many instances of Phishing which are all designed to get to you submit your details to a false link.

Never log into Ebay any other way than through your normal link.

If you can be bothered there is a specific e-mail address to send instances of Phishing to. I have had no response to any of the ones I have sent so I see Ebay as, once again, not bothering its arse to protect its buyers.
Bunkerbarge is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006   #6 (permalink)
Moderator
 
GEEDUBBYA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Real Name: Greg
My Models: model planes tanks and helicopters as well as missiles and rockets
Visit GEEDUBBYA's Gallery
Posts: 1,030
Images: 329
Howdy Guys,

I just had to re reply to this thread. I was just eating my lunch (grilled cheese ala Greg) and was reading the newspaper. Well, in the Arkansas democrat gazette, in the "style" section there is a coloumn called "spin cycle". The reporter who writes it tells of a very similar occurrance with her ebay account, except that someone had hacked her account and caused it to appear as though she was selling items on ebay.
She knew that she wasnt selling anything and when someone inquired about it, she logged into ebay and found that according to ebay, she was selling various items she didnt own.
To make a long story short, she contact an ebay rep. thru ebays "online chat" feature.
I just thought you might be able to use the same thing to find out about yours Barry.
So, try their online chat and see if you can get a moderator or someone. (providing they have an online chat, I have never been to ebay myself, but I have recieved letters like yours before).


Have a good day,

Greg aka GW
GEEDUBBYA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
feedback , mystery , request

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2004 - 2008 Scale Model Forums
Compare | Record Internet Radio with Tags | 0 Credit Cards | Israel | Web Advertising
ServInt Internet Services