Go Back   Scale Models > General Chat > Computer Help!

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2006   #1 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
Getting the magician onto E-bay ?

Can you assist here please ? a friend has been a right mug and 'purchased' one of those magicians that flit around your screen as an attachment !
Now that he has the attachment he needs to get it onto his E-bay pages,how exactly does he go about this ? where does he upload it to,any ideas ?
This guy is doing a roaring trade selling the magician attachmens at 0.99p each,what a nerve.
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-07-2006   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
GEEDUBBYA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Real Name: Greg
My Models: model planes tanks and helicopters as well as missiles and rockets
Visit GEEDUBBYA's Gallery
Posts: 1,002
Images: 329
Howdy Barry,

I dont guess I am quite sure of what you are talking about. Is it like a screensaver maybe?
And is he wanting on his ebay pages to sell or what? Now I have never bought anything thru ebay or sold anything there either, but, if he is wanting to sell it, I would think he would have to have the purchaser email him and the attachment be sent that way.
If he is just wanting a "screenshot" to advertise with, he might do just that, take a screenshot.
Now I reckon you are saying ok, how do you do a screenshot? its easy, hold down alt and hit the "prnt scrn" button up by F12, then open a program like "word" or "paint" and hold down the Ctrl button and hit the letter v. Then save the image as a file in your computer and post it like you would any other picture.
Anyway, let me know if thaqts what you were asking.

Have a good day,

greg aka GW
GEEDUBBYA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006   #3 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
Greg,what it is,is this magician that waves a wand and flits across the screen from corner to corner,it comes in the form of an attachment that can normally be uploaded onto your own site,but on E-bay it is different because you are in effect loading onto a secure page,not sure whether E-bay like these things anyway but they are on there for sure,I just cannot think how you would go about uploading an attachment on an E-bay page ? because if you were allowed to upload attachments that would leave the system wide open to virus attacks.
Thanks for your thoughts on this,much appreciated.
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006   #4 (permalink)
Founder
 
John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax
Real Name: John
My Models: rc cars & various model kits
Visit John's Gallery
Posts: 1,455
Images: 95
The only magician/wizard I can think of is Merlin that's part of Windows


Have you got a link to the one your on about?
__________________
Free email address click --> here
John is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
Thats the very same one John.
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006   #6 (permalink)
Founder
 
John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax
Real Name: John
My Models: rc cars & various model kits
Visit John's Gallery
Posts: 1,455
Images: 95
Why did he buy him when he's already part of Windows, you might remember I once had him flying around the screen when on here telling you you got a pm
__________________
Free email address click --> here
John is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006   #7 (permalink)
Daughter of Nigel.d
 
AerynPk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Basildon Essex
Real Name: Charlotte
My Models: WWII planes mostly
Visit AerynPk's Gallery
Posts: 727
Images: 22
that is stupid what a con. you can easily close that by right clicking on the wizard and click exit/close.
AerynPk is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006   #8 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
***Beats me John ? some people will sell anything to make money.
Would he be breaking the piracy laws by selling them ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John
Why did he buy him when he's already part of Windows, you might remember I once had him flying around the screen when on here telling you you got a pm
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006   #9 (permalink)
Moderator
 
wonwinglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Warwick,UK
Real Name: Barry
My Models: Aviation artifacts
Visit wonwinglo's Gallery
Posts: 5,564
Images: 49
See here 120005567309 where it is in use,but how exactly did he get it on the E-bay page,just say it was a malicious attachment ?
__________________
'And there I was oil on my goggles from a broken pipe,then I looked at the altimeter,all I could see was the makers name !'
www.wonwinglo.scale-models.net/
wonwinglo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006   #10 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Bunkerbarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Halifax, Yorks: Nassau, Bahama's:Port Canaveral, USA: and all points in between.
Real Name: Richard
My Models: Robbe U-47, Deans Marine Cossack, Steam Coaster, Revell U-Boat, Motorcycles.
Visit Bunkerbarge's Gallery
Posts: 3,582
Images: 230
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by wonwinglo
***Beats me John ? some people will sell anything to make money.
Would he be breaking the piracy laws by selling them ?
If you check out his received feedback you will see that you are not the only one with exactly that concern. Not sure why they bought it in the first place though!!!
Bunkerbarge is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2004 - 2008 Scale Model Forums
Remortgage | Secured Loans | Secured Loans | Loans | Current Accounts
ServInt Internet Services