Colin M's Trumpeter 1:72 fairey Gannet mk 1 / 4

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
Here's my choice of build for this GB. A welcome return to 1:72 for me after a 1:24 SHAR.

I've never built a Trumpeter kit before. It looks good, but I believe Trumpeter may not be the most accurate kits around. Well this looks like a Gannet, so that will do me.

Anyway, it has a good level of detail and fine recessed panel lines. Right, off to Youtube to watch some Gannet carrier landings.

Colin M....

View attachment 107267

View attachment 107268

View attachment 107269

View attachment 107270

IMG_0703.JPG

IMG_0708.JPG

IMG_0709.JPG

IMG_0710.JPG

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
POpcorn in the pan. Comfy seat found.

Begin-

Ian M

First Name
Jason
I'm in Colin, this is a great kit. I found polishing the canopies a bit tricky but apart from that it was good fun. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Jason

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
\ said:
I'm in Colin, this is a great kit. I found polishing the canopies a bit tricky but apart from that it was good fun. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Jason
Eh up, polishing canopies, what have you seen that I haven't ?

First Name
Jason
\ said:
Eh up, polishing canopies, what have you seen that I haven't ?
Hi had a seam straight through the middle of all three canopies. Scraped them off with a blade and polished them back up with micro mesh. It was a bit of a pain. If you don't have that on your canopies then brilliant.

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
\ said:
Hi had a seam straight through the middle of all three canopies. Scraped them off with a blade and polished them back up with micro mesh. It was a bit of a pain. If you don't have that on your canopies then brilliant.
Alas no, my canopies do have the ridiculous seam just as you describe.