Tamiya 1/35 Willys Jeep

First Name
Aaron
Good luck on using etch mate, it should add some great detail to a great fitting kit.

Man, totally forgot I started this. Was enjoying building the kit. Will get some photos and update later.

Ok advice needed. Is this colour a bit too light. Mixed olive drab with khaki but think maybe too much khaki.

20151108_195505.jpg

Advice needed. I thought my paint was looking ok until I saw how much darker other build on this forum were. Should I remix my OD with slightly less khaki?

Robert1968

SMF Supporter
First Name
Robert
\ said:
Ok advice needed. Is this colour a bit too light. Mixed olive drab with khaki but think maybe too much khaki.
Not really too light as I'm sure they were all standard seat backs and with a bit of weathering and wash should darken a bit

I have found ref pic if it helps

Robert

image.jpeg

john i am

SMF Supporter
First Name
john
Hi Shaun I don't do enough armour myself and I'm no expert in this field or any other but on the odd occasion I do I always use these vallejo primers as a finish.

This maybe bad guidance and not correct and if I'm way of the mark someone will hopefully kindly point it out. But they do for me n look right in my eyes.

Good look with your jeep I've always fancied one myself.

Cheers John

image.jpg

image.jpg

grumpa

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Just give it a dirty brown wash {dark} may need to give it a couple of splashes then start 'dry brushing out original color finished off with a lightened original color. that should give you a good base to work some subtleties on. Takes time and experience to reach the level of some modelers on this forum but you are young and I'm sure you will mature in the hobby and be a force to be reckoned with soon enough I'm sure, just keep at it. ;) .................Jim:smiling3:

\ said: