Thinners - different for different manufacturers?!

J

Jens Andrée

Apologies in advance if this has already been covered.
I'm a total beginner on the subject and I think I've hit this dilemma on my first attempt...?

Just started with scale models, and more precise - tanks and armoured vehicles.
When I was a kid and built cheap Italeri scale models they looked like they'd been painted with a hammer due to bad choice of paint - and useless technique on my part.
I wasn't about to repeat that miserable failure so I bought an airbrush kit at the same time as I bought my first models! The kit came with a selection of body paints so I've practised on the kids to learn how to use the airbrush :D

The last couple of weeks that's been leading up to me getting started I looked at various skilled people building, painting and weathering tank models on youtube! Fantastic resource!!!
Sadly I didn't think about sticking to one manufacturer so I bought a mix of paint products. This I'm beginning to regret and I hope with a bit of help it can be rectified? (or at least made to work if I combine to correct products.)

Most of the paints I bought were Tamiya acrylics but all the weathering products (washes and pigments) I bought were Vallejo. I read that I had to add appx 20% thinner to the Tamiya paints in order to use them in my airbrush so I did.

Not thinking about a possible conflict when ordering I bought Vallejo airbrush thinner. This apparently works fine with my Tamiya paints, but I hit a major snag when I realised I hadn't bought any cleaning products... sigh.

I thought the white spirit I use for cleaning most of my large paintbrushes would do fine in my airbrush but oh dear what a mess it made... I had to apply a lot of elbow grease to get things clean.