Total newbie to modeling, requesting advice

• Thread starter George Papakonstantinou
  • Start date
G

George Papakonstantinou

Hello, I'm George and my parents just got me a 1/48 scale Academy F- 16C for my seventeenth birthday. I'm trying to follow some general tips YouTube provided, but I would like some more contact with people that do this modeling thing.I want the internet's opinion. Is this model too much for a first build, or I can go ahead and start it from tomorrow?

J

Jack10

You'll find plenty of help on here mate. I'm very new to model making myself so I can't advise you on this but the amount of support and help I've had on here from people has helped me loads. Enjoy the forums mate and don't ever hesitate to ask for help

T

Tony

George

Happy birthday :smiling:

My suggestion would be get on and build it and enjoy it. There are so many techniques and processes that you will learn over time but for a first build i would concentrate on the enjoyment of building the kit.

If there was one recommendation starting out it would be get yourself (if you have no already) some liquid glue rather that the tube type adhesives.

When i started out so many years ago all you had was tube cenent (airfix in my case with a snap off tip) and it was just so difficult to control.

If you do a GOOGLE search along the lines of 1:48 academy f-16 that usually brings up various kit reviews and builds you can read up on.

Hope you enjoy your build.

james pithouse

Models are fun just ask kpnuts
First Name
James