Wooden decks and PE railings

F

Fenlander

Quick question as per the title. Ages ago, I started a Tamiya 1/700 waterline Yamato. I have main and secondary armament brass barrels fitted and a wooden deck veneer to go on, on the Yamato, this is two part, and I have a set of railings and other bits (long time since I looked).

Anyway, I have never used a wooden deck before but, thinking it through, I see a few problems. Before fitting the wooden deck, the plasic has to be sprayed so that the sticky through bits are the right colour. But what about the railings? Should I try fitting the railings, spraying the deck and railings before adding the wood veneer?

Not sure if I fit the wood before the railings and if so, what do the railings glue to? Would railings glued to veneer hold?

J

John Rixon

Well, given the scale you are building, the deck caulking will be all but invisible! This is my issue with these wooden veneer decks, the scale is cartoon!, a 20 mm caulk width (and I think this is wider than reality, I'm just using it as an example!) at 1/700 comes out at 0.028 mm. Normal human hair is circa 0.07mm. My opinion would be paint it!

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Graham, some folks know my view on these veneer decks. I don't like them - full stop.

The caulking I've seen, even in 1/350 is way too wide.

John is dead right with his observations - paint the deck. The detail on the plastic main deck is usually excellent, and again as John points out, the caulking at 1/700 would be virtually invisible and not much more defined on larger scales either.

Sorry, but I consider these and brass gun barrels etc, and other general aftermarket stuff a bit of a con. that tends to breed a sort of 'must have' mentality, leading to those who don't use them being regarded as building somewhat inferior models (not here on S.M.)

I'm not getting at you Graham, and please understand the above is just my view, so don't shout at me, 'cos to each his own, eh? ;)