1/35 - German Panther Aus A - My First Historical Model

KevWhalen90

SMF Supporter
First Name
Kev
Hi All,

This is my first project in quite a while (7 years or so) and my first full actual historical kit so was looking to get back into things with my FAV of the German WW2 tanks.... the Panther.

The kit arrived yesterday all well and good, looking through all the parts and pieces seems fairly straight forward so I began today by putting together the rear section of the tank with the exhaust system and couple of wee storage units. All good!!

However, to add a bit of detail and texture to the model I had decided, in my wisdom, to also pick up an Eduard Zimmerit kit to add to the Tamiya model...... and here the issues of the day began! :tears-of-joy:

First of all..... the Eduard kit has been produced for the "Dragon Panther Aus A" kit and so nothing actually fit to the Tamiya variant. I had initially thought to just drop the Zimmerit altogether for this first build but my tendency to make things harder for myself got the better of me and I decided instead to "modify" the etched brass and try to fit it that way.......

To be fair the stuff was easy enough to cut and shape (just time consuming) and overall I am pretty happy with the end result.... its a wee bit wonky in spots but hey...... aren't we all!? Most of the tricky bits are around the back sections so I am hoping the rest of the brass will be able to be altered to fit as well!

So the rear section is done and glued...... pics below..... and I would really love to hear some comments from anyone..... good or bad on your thoughts with how this has turned out so far......

Cheers,

Kev

Attachments

• IMG_7337.JPG
    IMG_7337.JPG
    154 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_7338.JPG
    IMG_7338.JPG
    155.1 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_7340.JPG
    IMG_7340.JPG
    52.2 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_7343.JPG
    IMG_7343.JPG
    80 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG_7346.JPG
    IMG_7346.JPG
    121.8 KB · Views: 42

Dave Ward