1/5 scale nieuport 11 with working cockpit

M

mcguyver

howdy, as i am new to model building ( less than a year) and this being my 3rd build( 2 shorts before this )i'd like to post some pics of the build and i'm just learning how to start a build on a thread my next one will be more informative. this is a 1/5 nieuport 11 with a fully working cockpit right down to the throttle. the servo's control the stick, rudderboard etc. and inturn they control the control surfaces. most every thing you see with the exception of one brass instrument housing was fabricated from alum. and brass tube, lithoplate, aluminum sheet and 1/64, 1/32 ply. i used no special tools like milling machines, lathes etc. just a dremal, exacto, razor saw and sandpaper unfortunatly i don't even own a set of files. all the leather work is done in black and natural. anyway here are a bunch of pics and this is also a russian version of the N-11. P.S. i'm working on the upper and lower wings and then maybe i'll be finished with the exception of a bunch of weathering.

View attachment 16543

View attachment 16544

View attachment 16545

View attachment 16546

View attachment 16547

View attachment 16548

View attachment 16549

View attachment 16550

View attachment 16551

View attachment 16552

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

11.jpg

Last edited:
M

mcguyver

last of the pics. i wiil post some more when its finished. if you need to know how and what tecniques i used on somthing just ask and i will be as informative as possible. next build will be play by play as it should be from beginning to end. BTW next build is a 1/8 fokker dr1 museum quality and every thing works and will fly like this one only even better. i say better because hopefully you learn a couple of things as you go along.

View attachment 16573

View attachment 16574

View attachment 16575

View attachment 16576

View attachment 16577

View attachment 16578

View attachment 16579

View attachment 16580