1/87 Scale Early Panther G In "Disc" Cammo.

Mini Me

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick
This is my first attempt at "Disc" cammo. 'Twas very tedious and I did not achieve the result I was looking for. Each disc was an individual tape mask of three randomly placed different sizes. I'm hoping to perfect this as I intend to do a BOTB diorama and Peiper's Group had several vehicles in this scheme. I am definitely open to suggestions. Cheers,P1010663.JPGP1010665.JPGP1010657.JPGP1010660.JPGP1010661.JPG Rick H.

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Rick, that is excellent, you should have seen my first attempt!

As you have asked for suggestions, I hope the following might be of help.
I briefly looked at those mask thingies when I first thought about having a go at this type of cammo., but decided it would be too messy and awkward working around all those protrusions.

So as I just brush paint I ended up doing mine freehand. Taking a suitable sized old paint brush I cut the bristles almost down to the ferrule then with the smallest amount of paint on the brush I just touched the plastic and sort of twirled the brush to get a ' disc'.

Here's three I did. All prior to weathering etc.

1/35
P1200654.JPG

1/35 Stug
P1180566.JPG

One of those 'Two in a box' instant 1/72 tanks. Spots a bit big. All part of the learning curve..... :upside:
P1190005.JPG

I hope you don't mind me posting the pictures but probably better than me burbling along trying to write what I'm getting at.

My method might be worth having a go at and might help to keep your sanity!

Good luck whatever method you adopt and I look forward to your Ardenne diorama.

Cheers.
Ron

JR

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Rick
For your first attempt that's good, not an easy thing to do in the first place. 570s advice and photos seem perfect answer. Can't imagine if you try this you would have any problem .
John

Mini Me

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick