Acrylic/Enamel

Del640

SMF Supporter
First Name
Del
Hello chaps,

I've purchased an airbrush and was having a play with it, I initially tried Acrylic mixed with water, about 50/50, and it was awful,runny, excessive and went through a pot of paint in about 2 mins!!
I do have acrylic thinners on route via Scale Model Shop, and I have read that water doesn't always bear fruit as a thinner, but surely not as bad as I've experienced?

On a side note I tried enamel/white spirit 50/50 and the results were very good, nice even coverage and no issues, so my question is, I guess, is the correct thinners the way forward for acrylic spraying?

Any other beginner tips absorbed with thanks!

Legal Note: No cardboard was harmed (much) in this practice.

Cheers!

Del.

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 7181

I'm no expert but it might help others answer if you could let us know which acrylic you used.

There's a vast range and 50/50 would be far too much thinning for some, not enough for others. Water works okay with some , not so great with others.

Cheers.

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David
The question enamels or acrylics depends on your personal choices. I use acrylics, because there is less mess, and more importantly virtually no smell - I live in a flat & have no access to open air spraying, so unless I want to live with the smell of turps/white spirit/enamels, acrylics, then are my choice. MIxing to spray is a matter of practice - it's said add water/thinners to the consistency of semi-skimmed milk!
One thing I do recommend is to use a small container to mix your paints ( I use plastic shot glasses from £ store ) - not in the airbrush cup. You can get a better feel for the paint thickness and ensures complete mixing, and can save you cleaning up the airbrush in the event of a bad mix!
I have to say that I would never go back to enamels, the advantages are far too many for acrylics,
but practice, practice & more practice
Dave

D