Air Compressor and water

T

tiz

Hello

I'm new to airbrushing and I've run into a problem. I have an Iwata HP-CS airbrush which is fantastic, but my compessor, is a generic TC-20 with moisture trap. I bought this as a package set off of amazon. I always check the trap for moisture and usually theres a few drops, nothing major. Well, i went a couple of days without checking and there was quite a bit of water in the trap. I'm not sure how this whole thing works but now, everytime i try to airbrush, it looks like water is in the paint because its really thin. I have tried Tamiya and Vallejo Model Air acryic paints and its the same thing. I've taken what i believe is the regualor off of the compressor to see if drying it out works, but it doesnt. I throughly clean my airbrush after each use by taking it apart and I disconnect the hose off the AB and compressor.

I guess my question is, do i need a new compressor? Is there a simple fix for this? Any help would be appreciated.

The link is below to see what it looks like.

Amazon.com: Iwata 4207 HP-CS .35mm Eclipse Airbrush Kit With Airbrush Depot 1 Year Warranty Tankless Compressor and 6 Foot Air Hose Set: Home & Kitchen

Tony

T

tecdes

Very similar to my last & defunc compressor Tony.

Seems that it was not working as it should be which resulted in it overheating (not red hot just a higher temp than normal) this produces water. Noticed that water was being collected in the water separator but not all.

New one hardly collects any water at all.

Laurie

T

tiz

one other thing I wanted to add is this happens immediately. After I connect the airbrush and turn on the compressor, I call for air and water comes out. So the compressor has no time to heat up. I'm thinking my trap/regulaor is shot.

M

m1ks

I take it you're draining the water tap before each spraying session and when it gets a bit of buildup?