Airbrush advice

First Name
Red
Hi,
After a long break (48 years) I'm building my 1st AFV. Back in the day the only airbrush I could afford, with my pocket money, was the classic Humbrol airbrush, similar to the current AG5107. Basic and not suitable for fine detailing. Can anyone recommend an airbrush suitable for 1/72 kits? I'm looking for a brush than can spray the German camouflage patterns. Initially I will be focusing on 1/72 kits.
Price is not limited. I expect with a good airbrush I will need a compressor.
I would appreciate any comments please.

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
I only have experience with H&S (Harder and Steenbeck) I like them, it's easy to dismantle and clean. Spare parts are available easily. Iwata is another big brand. I have no experience of these, but I don't think you will go wrong choosing either make.

Andy the Sheep

SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrea
Ditto, and yes you'll need a compressor.
You'll find plenty of advice here as airbrushes and compressors are one of the most discussed topic here as in the whole modeller's world.
I have an Iwata compressor and 2 Badger airbrushes, one bottom fed and one side fed, but I'm not yet into small scale mottled camouflage patterns. If you are looking for an airbrush for German camouflage patterns and try to paint it freehand in 1/72, you'd better choose a gravity fed airbrush with a small nozzle size (and a lot of exercise too :rolling:). My compressor is an Iwata Smart Jet Plus Tubular Airbrush Compressor; it's good but not very cheap; here's a picture from the Iwata home page:
IS875HT-A1_1000x955.jpg

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Airbrushing needs practice especially if you want to do fine detail work. A high end airbrush and compressor will not automatically allow you to do what you want.