Airbrush cleaning after using acrylics

W

wbk666

I'm a total newbie to this so can you tell me whats best to use and how?

I have one of those cleaning baths but have read eleswhere not to put the main body in it. Also should i fill it with water or some other cleaning fluid?

thanks in advance

T

tecdes

Wayne this is my play on it.

First if you can get a quick removal coupler between the hose & brush. When Finished I remove the brush to the sink.

Every time I have used the brush I break it down into its parts back end off. Loosen needle & pull back an inch out of the way of the nozzle.

Remove nozzle & clean the parts. With the nozzle you need a reamer in case you have paint stuck up it. When clean look down the nozzle on to white paper to see that it is clean & free of paint.

Remove needle by pushing through the nozzle end of the brush. Clean carefully including the very tip where paint can stick to the very end.

I then with a fine brush on a long wire clean out the needle housing from back to front. With a paint brush I clean the area at the bottom of the paint cup. Rinse through with water. Use warm water for cleaning

Replace after cleaning the trigger. Thread the needle from the nozzle end (only) to preserve the point. Pulling well back form the nozzle. Replace nozzle. Push gently the needle into the nozzle until it stops. Tighten up the needle clamp. Replace the very end.

I then couple up the hose to the brush & fill the cup with airbush cleaner & squirt the lot through to get rid of any remnants.

SOunds a great deal but found I can do this in about 4 or 5 mins.

By the way this is for a gravity fed brush.

Laurie

PS Forgot. As Andrew on another post yesterday warned. He uses a paint roller tray. Easy to loose the nozzle down the plug hole.

Last edited:

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve