Airbrushing metallic and black color

First Name
Daniel
Hi All and happy new year!

So I noticed if I try to airbrush with my 0.2 needle some metallic paint or black one I get "bursting" behavior as the paint from my airbrush stop/go all the time. I thin these two the same way I do with other paints but I noticed whenever I need to paint metallic or black I get this "bursting" behavior.

I am also here including the lacquer based stuff from Mr. Color as well.

I admit that I am still learning the ways of airbrushing but this is the trend which I noticed. Any tips and is this expected behavior due different pigments or something?

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
I get this sometimes with the smaller needle size daniel. Personally i reckon its to do with the size of the pigment flakes in a particular paint . If I use the 0.2 airbrush and try to do a fine exhaust stain for example ( using a very thinned black/ brown mixture at a reduced pressure ) it can stutter and almost seems as if its straining out the pigment and only spraying the thinner . So I end up using another airbrush with a 0.3 or 0.4 needle instead. Your problem with the metallics is almost certainly due to the size of the flakes , metallics always have a bigger pigment size , some better than others . Tamiya x11 silver for example has a large very visible flake but the vallejo model air and metal colors are much finer .

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim