Another question guys.

mossiepilot

A learner learning
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tony
When I have air brushed my model, I have moved the brush in a backwards and forwards motion, going from the front of the plane to the rear, following the advice about not keeping the brush still.

When I look at the newly painted kit I have noticed lighter bands of colour, especially on the larger 1/48 Starfighter, like I have missed an area, or the paint is not as "dense" as in other areas, so I have painted from side to side, across the plane, to fill in these lighter areas, is this OK.

It may seem like a dumb question, but I realise that I am still learning and would like all the help I can get about this new air brush gizmo.

Hope someone can put my mind at rest about this.

cheers

Tony.

D

dead-mans-click

Good question. I also have this problem to, never seems to spray even on large models.... Maybe it's because we are using cheap airbrushes as mine came free with the compressed aswel.

takeslousyphotos

No Tears Please. It's a Waste of Good Suffering.
First Name
Peter
I'm no expert but ............ if you have a small compressor that doesn't have a reservoir you will probably find that there is a variation in the pressure when spraying a larger area ........... I expect that someone with far more knowledge on this subject will no doubt correct me on it.

Peter

0ne48thtel

Dave I find cross hatching is fine. I find it elimates the problem you are having perfectly

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
In short you are possibly spraying to close to the subject and this will give a narrow coverage. Back away a little and try to make sure that the coverage overlaps slightly, wet on wet.