"Back to Basics"

B

Bunkerbarge

After having enjoyed participating in the quizzes and caption contests for a while I guess maybe it is time to think a bit about making a bit more use of the area of the forums that give us the real reasons for being here and that is the sharing of experiences and information.

We can all learn from other people’s experiences so I will warm up the enthusiasm by tossing a couple of my bits into the arena under the "Tutorial" heading but not necessarily a full tutorial.

One of the things that I am constantly trying to get across to younger engineers in my profession is to get back to basics and that applies to modelling as much as engineering. I think we often overlook the really basic stuff in the rush to explain something that is dear to our hearts and start the explanation using a basic set of assumptions. These can quite often loose the newcomer who gets lost after the first line so my aim with some of these notes is to really get right back to the very basic stuff which may be of help to some of the newcomers to plastic modelling and who may find themselves in the horrible gooey situation of being afraid to ask.

I am going to start these notes off then with some stuff that seems so basic as to seem ridiculous at first but they are all related to things that I had to learn myself over the years, sometimes the hard way and I will call this thread “Back to basics”

B

Bunkerbarge

Lets take glue as an example of something that we all learn hard lessons with and is a topic that we are all learning as we progress in our hobby. I only recently discovered that Rapid Araldite is not considered as waterproof and yet normal cure Araldite is. I have had to try to rectify this with some additional resin and paint on the steam coaster hull but it would have been nice to have this knowledge before hand.