(Beginner) Washing the parts before starting

N

notflip

Hi, Absolute beginner here.
I'm writing down all steps before starting tonight, as for the washing part..

Do I leave them in soap + warm water for a while, if yes how long? And after that should I just leave them out to dry on a towel?

stillp

SMF Supporter
First Name
Pete
Hi Miguel, many people don't bother washing the sprues, but I've never heard of anyone having trouble because the parts are too clean! I would just swirl tthem about in a bowl of warm soapy water for a few minutes, then rinse, shake off as much water as you can, pat dry with a paper towel then leave them to air-dry.
Pete

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Hi Miguel
I totally agree with Pete. Personally I never wash plastic sprues. THIS recent thread may be of interest.
Jim

N

notflip

Thanks @stillp I'm going to follow your advice, How long do you guess the air drying would take? I suppose overnight?

stillp

SMF Supporter
First Name
Pete
Depends how warm and airy the room is. An hour or two should be plenty.

Pete

Reactions: JR

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Make sure that the water is just warm and NOT hot. Plastic and hot water are not a great mix. Wash them off and lay them on kitchen roll befor you go to work/Bed and they should be ready when you come home of get up!

Moved this to modelling chat.

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
warm water......old tooth brush.....very gentle scrubbing, try not to break any thing.......stand up some where to air dry over night

scottie3158

SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
Hi Miguel,
First welcome to the forum and as for washing the sprues, the other guys have said it all.

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
The main reason I don't wash the sprues is that I feel that all the handling and sanding the parts are going to get putting the model together, I'm better off cleaning just before priming/painting.
Jim

Peej