Blitz AFS Fireman Bust Sculpt ,1-10 scale

Neil Merryweather

SMF Supporter
First Name
Neil
While I've got the sculpting mojo back I thought I would do a bust, which I have never done before.
British WWII subjects are rather neglected in favour of Germans and Americans, and especially the home front, so I thought I would start with the Auxiliary Fire Service and maybe progress with that theme if it goes well.
And as the Battle of Britain GB finishes this is a natural follow-on.
This is one of my inspiration images
london-afs-fireman-hospital-blitz-ww2-7638181.jpg

I also have a thing against the film-star good looks of many soldier busts, so I have challenged myself with a more 'character' face.
As Peter Day's blogs often show, some of the 'character' sculpts leave a lot to be desired and tend to look more like caricatures, so it's a tough one. That said, the AFS and other home front services were manned predominantly by older people who were beyond call-up age, and I want to represent them properly.

This has been cooking for a week or two so there are no earlier shots
IMG_20201031_092011095.jpgIMG_20201031_092021441.jpgIMG_20201031_092030104.jpg
The head is Milliput, the helmet is downloaded free from the internet and 3D printed and the rest is Bee's Putty.
Bee's Putty is new to me and is a polymer clay like Fimo or Sculpy which you bake in the oven.
What differentiates it from these others is that it comes in four firmness options. So far I have only used the basic version, with a little bit of 'Triple Firm' for the retaining straps on the gas mask bag, but I like it.
As I have said before I am as much a carver as a modeler, so this is pushing me out of my comfort zone in the modelling direction.
I am also going to have another go at mould-making and casting- so that will be exciting.........
thanks for looking
Neil

Richard48

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard