Chipping woes

Jolly Roger

SMF Supporter
First Name
Roger
Hi guys. I'm new to this forum so forgive me if I make any gaffs.
I have been modelling for a couple of years (AFV's), although I did some when I was a youngster. Anyhow my skill level is slowly improving and eventually decided I needed to master chipping. So bought some VMS Chip & Nick materials. Then saw that they recommend varnishing using their brand of varnish (no surprise there!) and leaving it to dry for 3 - 5 days. Well, I was hoping to have the weathering completed within those 3 - 5 days !! Therefore I decided to try the Hairspray technique. Watched several YouTube vids on the subject, did some trials on pieces of plastic, then applied the technique to my Stug IV. I used Mig Satin Lucky varnish over a rust colour. Left it for 2-3 hours then lightly sprayed two very light coats of Tresemme hairspray. Allowed it to dry for 30 minutes or so, then covered the model with 'Vallejo Air' Dark Yellow, again waited for approx 20-30 minutes. When I came back to the model the yellow had "crazed" all over the model, so I tried to concentrate on removing paint from the worst affected areas. As a result the chipping is well beyond acceptable.
Can anyone help by explaining why the paint 'crazed' and how to prevent it occuring on future models. I use all Vallejo paints. Either their 'Air' or 'Model' colours..

Mr Bowcat

SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
I don't use those paints, but I can only imagine it has reacted badly with the hairspray. I'd suggest testing on plastic spoons first before committing to a model wherever possible. :smiling3:

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Unfortunately I also think the paint has reacted with the hairspray. Maybe some ingredient in the hairspray or as Pete said it needed longer to dry.