Colin m's 1:72 Airfix Kamov Ka25A/C

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
Well Cosford came and went and along with it was the £5.00 challenge. As an aircraft builder I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and try a bit of armour. So I bought this.
OK, some of you might have noticed it isn't anything armour related, true, but it is a sort of helicopter I think.
The price was verified by Tony, Ian and Neil. I wonder if I should of haggled...……...anyway.

A fair bit of white plastic. A bit offensive to the eyes. I might just prime everything. And as for the 'glass' bits, sturdy is the politest thing I can say about these.

Nicely drooped blades I thought. No, I realised they are just warped.

Sergei, Yuri and Mykolaiv all seem to be wearing turbans !

And the vintage for this fine old kit, 1983, a mere 36 years old.

Right, I'm off to research Russian helicopter pilot's.

Attachments

• IMG_3014.JPG
    IMG_3014.JPG
    74.5 KB · Views: 0

Allen Dewire

Proud Rabble Member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Allen
Colin, it looks like a challenge, but I'm sure you'll handle it. Are those booties on the landing gear??? Never seen that before...….

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
Colin, it looks like a challenge, but I'm sure you'll handle it. Are those booties on the landing gear??? Never seen that before...….
They look a bit like floats, but surely to small to support a helicopter ? Anyone got any ideas ?

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
Apparently colin the undercarriage was fitted with emergency rapid inflation flotation bags , i imagine these would be triggered by immersion in water. In most pics these arent fitted though so its up to you whether to use them or not. Always liked the look of these choppers , kind of looks like the designers started with a van and then nailed on bits to turn it into a helicopter. Cheers tony

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin