Colin M's Matchbox Mercedes SSKL 1:32

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
Well, ok I like to say fashionably late, to the GB. Now summer is over, I have a bit of spare time and so thought, why not. I love a bit of old Matchbox. The thing is I'm an aircraft builder. I build aircraft, that's what I like, so here's a car. Something I normally avoid like the plague.
The chosen subject looks a bit like this.
1.JPG
And in true Matchbox style, the plastic is in three colours, yes three.
2.JPG

Rubber tyres, luxury - no masking of wheels for me during this build.
3.JPG

The clear parts will need a good polish.
4.JPG

I started by drilling out the 'light weight' modifications to this race car.
5.JPG
I've already defaced the chrome with a bath in bleach, it's black underneath. So, I stuck a few bits together.
6.JPG

A spot of primer and the chassis scrubs up quite nicely for an old dear.
7.JPG

After a bit of thought and playing around with bit and pieces, it seems to me that I'll have to approach building this thing, devoid of wings, in a different way.
Just about everything will be painted, then assembled. That might work.

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
did this one a few years ago, a nice kit as i remember

mrtintheweb

mrtinthweb
First Name
Toby
Not often you get a chrome sprue in a kit, though some of the moulding leaves me wondering how it will look once fettled to fit?
T

SimonT

Rest in Peace
Rest In Peace
First Name
Simon
Brings back memories - don't think I did this one though. Do remember doing the Jag SS100

Black for the chrome sprue is a sensible colour at least - one I stripped years ago left it as a translucent green which was horrible to work with

Nice improvement with the cross drilled chassis rails

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David