Craft Tools

V

Vlada011

Hello, I'm new in world of modeling, actually I want to start to build scale models for few months after I prepare everything I need and learn a lot about different stuff before I start with my new hobby.
I'm interest to build in 1/48 scale. (bad because some vehicle is available in 1/35 only, 1/72 is too small). Only Modern USA/NATO jets, helicopters, tanks, missile systems, etc...
I search specific kits only with marks of US Air Force or US Navy or US Marines and have question about basic and absolutely necessary tools.

I looked tools brand Tamiya, their tools are expensive but I will invest if they worth?
Do you agree with Tamiya tools or have some observation.
My Tamiya Craft Tool list is

1. Sharp Pointed Side Cutter 74123
2. Angled Tweezers 74047
3. Modelers Knife Pro 74098
4. Extra Thin Cement (Quick Settings???)
5. Cutting Mat A3 74076
6. Basic File Set Smooth - 74104
7. Model Cleaning Brush 74078
8. Masking Tape 6mm + 2 pcs - 18mm + 2pcs
9. Fine Pin Vise D-R
10. Fine Pivot Drill Bit 0.5mm

If you think that I need maybe and Straight Twizeers, different size of drill bit, something else or maybe I don't need something from list I would appreciate advice.
I'm more to pay better tools once and than for 10 years, not 20$ kits of low quality stuffs or complete of 10 different tweezers or knifes, etc... I hope I don't need bunch of tools.

My plan is to invest around 100 euro for tools, 300 euro for Iwara airbrush (plan to find some discount for Iwata HP C+ but that's on other place.)and Unknown compressor and than to start models.
I research about models I want and write on paper recommended kits for specific model.
Like I sad I still read because I need to choose enamel or acrylic colors, brand of colors, Revell or Tamiya or ....

Sorry for my English it's not native language.
Thanks.

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Hi Vlada
Welcome to the forum. I am sure you will enjoy your time here.