Del's Titanic build. Academy limited edition

Del640

SMF Supporter
First Name
Del
My loving wife has bought me a wedding anniversary gift..

A limited edition Academy model of the Titanic.
PXL_20210223_140520808.jpg

PXL_20210223_140431042.jpg

PXL_20210223_140419070.jpg

PXL_20210223_140311842.jpg

PXL_20210223_140304433.jpg

PXL_20210223_140256350.jpg
I'VE NEVER BUILT A SHIP BEFORE!!!!!

I'm more than nervous, it's a nice kit with real wood for the decking and a helluva lot of PE.

I may well be asking, no..I WILL be asking lots of you for any tips as I undertake this behemoth of a task.

I'm assuming weathering would not be relevant as it only went out once.

If it goes awry, I'll make an iceberg and attempt my first diorama..

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

boatman

SMF Supporter
First Name
christopher
WHATS the scale of it Del ? an you say you never built a ship before well theres always the first time on everything an if SWMBO ask how its goin tell her great its also got LED''S this will be great come on lets get started
chris

JR

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
First Name
John
I'll join in please Del.

There's plenty of mariners here to help, not me unfortunately :smiling3:

Del640

SMF Supporter
First Name
Del
WHATS the scale of it Del ? an you say you never built a ship before well theres always the first time on everything an if SWMBO ask how its goin tell her great its also got LED''S this will be great come on lets get started
chris

1/400 Chris, I have next week off so I intend to start it then..

....and yes, the pressure is on as I know SWMBO will be nosey over my shoulder!

Del

JR

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Well that's enough incentive to make a superb job of it Del, and very kind of your good lady.

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Hi Del