Figure company reviews

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Just looking at getting a few 1/35 figures to paint for a few ideas i have. I've only ever heard about/seen figures from Tamiya and Dragon before.

Figures i was looking at come from MK35, Mantis Miniatures and Rado Miniatures.

Anyone used these companies before? What are the figures details like?

Airborne01

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Alan,
Just seen this post so apologies for any delay in answering: I have no issues with Mk 35 models; similarly I have no experience of the other two manufacturers. What 'specific' areas/eras/nationalities are you interested in? Have you considered others? For example Bravo 6 and Stalingrad models are very good for WW2 and (for the latter) Vietnam eras. If you are prepared to spend a little time on preparation Mini-Art and ICM produce some excellent, and imaginative poses check out 'German Soldiers at Rest' (Mini Art35062) and 'German Infantry at Rest' (Mini Art 35266) - and ICM's range of aircrew figures.
Steve

Reactions: JR

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Hi Steve

I am after Waffen SS figures for the most part. I am hoping to do at least two dioramas with them. One for the Ardennes and the other being Normandy.

Airborne01

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Alan
Then I can definitely recommend Stalingrad and Bravo 6. There is a range of figures covering activities such as cooking, washing and shaving , vehicle maintenance etc as well as the customary 'action' poses! The 'German Infantry at Rest' from Mini Art have later equipment (short boots and gaiters) and look thoroughly knackered! Very suitable for a withdrawal in contact!

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Cheers Steve. Had a look at them on evilbay. Saved a few to my watch list. I'll be buying some resin figures down the line when i've actually got done some sort of decent attempt on some cheaper ones first.

Airborne01

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Hi Alan!