Finest Products for Dioramas

First Name
Steven
Hi Guys,
First of all I’d like to introduce myself. I’m an airbrush fine artist and self confessed “Normandy
campaign” nut. I find the dioramas that I’ve seen absolutely staggering and wanted to create a scene from the Normandy Bocage. I’ve already made a Panther in 1/35 which I’m about to paint and weather. I wanted to create a scene where the Panther was amongst the Bocage in a field with accompanying troops. With this in mind I wanted to know the best products to buy such as grass, mud effects, foliage etc. Luckily the airbrush side of things should be straightforward as I’ve been airbrushing now for over 10 years.
Thankyou for your comments

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Hi Steven

Thank you for your kind comments on my dio and welcome to the forum. I'm sure the guys and gals are more than willing to answer any questions you may have

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Welcome Steven.

In the process of doing my first dio myself so can't help much but there are a lot of talented modellers on here who can point you in the right direction.

ATB

Andrew

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
Hi Steven and welcome.
Always like to help a fellow diorama starter. Here are some tips before you start ordering or look for products.
1. Be aware of scale
2. Try to observe all things around you and you will find some odd stuff that can be used in the dio. The kitchen is a great place to start.
3. If you live in the city then ordering online is the way to go...try diodump.com they have quite a wide range of stuff.
4. If you stay in the suburbs and countryside then you'll save a lot of money scouring for moss, decaying wood chips, roots(good for miniature trees).
5. For groundwork you don't have to use real mud. Most of the effects are textures and painting. Polyfilla mixed with different grades of sand can give you varying textures.