First attempt at a wash. What am i doing wrong?

H

Harvest Fields

Hi all, as per the title im a new builder and i am trying to apply a wash but its not working.

I have a test piece that i painted , then applied an enamel matt coat over that , let it dry for 2 days and applied an enamel black wash and let that dry for about 30 mins. When i got a moist cotton bud of thinners to remove the excess wash it only succeeded in removing the matt coat and then the paint , and streaking the wash over the test piece and i cant seem to get it to come off properly.

Any ideas guys. I have a model nearing the latter stages of completion and dont want to start to apply washes if i have been doing something wrong and end up ruining my model.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Carl.

Mr Bowcat

SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Hi Carl,

I am a complete newb myself, but I understand from what I've read that washes are better applied over a gloss coat so they flow better. If I'm wrong I'm sure somebody more knowledgeable will be along shortly. :smiling3:

Cheers,

Bob

rickoshea52

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick
You are using an enamel wash over enamel paint and varnish. The wash is effectively almost neat enamel thinners - enamel thinners over enamel paint will just dilute your paint job and varnish. This can be useful for weathering or if trying to achieve a particularly worn effect but not so great for your situation.
After painting with enamels seal the paint with acrylic varnish, as you say gloss is the typical finish needed for application of a wash and of course decals. You can then seal the wash with another coat of acrylic or enamel varnish.

D

dubster72

Rick is spot on there. Even after a couple of days, the original paint is still likely to react to the addition of thinner.