First Build Log - breaking the cycle... Pak 38 - Italeri

B

backonthecase

Evening folks,

After gettin so many kits dug out from the depths of my "to finish" pile and nearly done (STAP, Buccaneer, Mirage, AC-47, Me262) , I thought I'd treat myself to starting a new one.

It's nothing fancy, just a kit to "break" the dribbly finishes of my others, no complexity, no surprises! Oh yeah and its my first build log from the start, so please be gentle!!! : :smiling3:

Anyway, less talky more piccy...

The obligatory box-shot

Sprues (they look awfully like old Tamiya sprues)

Gona have to do something about this...

lucky it's the second layer of armour, so not on full show

--------------------------------------------------------

So after just about an hour's work, mostly involving Mr Swann-Morton, Mr P1200 wet & dry and Mr needle file, we have this: -

2 trails, 1 slidy thing for under the barrel (I forget the technical term) and 1 chassis

Which translates into this, something vaguely Pak-looking

All in all it looks like a half-decent kit, although it has more flash than a Jaguar owner's club meeting in a camera shop :nerd: it's nothing some shaving and sanding can't handle.

As usual, comments & crit welcome.

Stitch

B

backonthecase

Here's an update.

Smoothed off the wheels with the trusty lathe method

and got a few other fiddly bits together. Trails are done (these handles were a pain to locate), the gun barrel is drying, the cradle that holds the barrel is done and cleaned up and the shield is almost done.

And test-fitted, we have something vaguely Pak shaped (forgive the location of the shield, it slipped before I took the photos...

Next on the list is cleaning up the barrel and then probably some primer :smiling3:

Stitch

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Nice one Stitch, what colour are you going to finish it in?......German grey or be brave and do it Dk. yellow/cammo to go with the crew?

Ron

D

dubster72