German Three Tone Mottle Camo

N

Neill

Hi all

I am going to start on my three tone mottle camo scheme on my 1/72 Tamiya Fw190 D-9. Its my first time air brushing so I was thinking of the simplest way to begin this rather daunting first go. Let me know if it sounds an easy straight forward way to go about things considering I am a newbie.

I was going to mask the landing gear compartments off (a bit of sponge cut to size or Tamiya tape?) as I have pre painted these as per the instructions. I have also pre painted the landing gear seperate from the main body of the aircraft as per the instructions for ease of assembly/painting as well. The lightest colour is a mix of Taimya XF-2, XF-23 and XF-66 so with this mix (and I dont think Ive mixed enough!!) I was going to spray the whole underside and then up onto roughly half way onto the upper part of the plane and wings as this is the lightest colour. At this point I wasnt sure whether to use Blu Tack or just to leave the the other parts of the model unmasked prior to them getting a coat of their required colour.

Ive seen the Blu Tack technique on Youtube and it doesnt look to bad. Is it the easiest way to get a soft edged three tone mottle scheme?

Stona from what Ive heard you may be the man with the master plan on this one!!!:1newwink:

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Hi Neill, first the easy bit,the wheel wells. You can use tape or foam but I use damp kitchen roll. Wet a bit,wring it out (hopefully without destroying it!) and then push it into the wheel wells. You can use more than one bit if you have to. Being damp it will stay in and when you've finished you can pull the now dry masking out with a pair of tweezers. This works for intakes as well.