Gloss Paint Finish

B

BCALMAN

Hi, I'm quite new to model making and I'm having problems with the finish of gloss paint. After the paint is applied, whether dried or not, There are loads of tiny 'bits', almost like dust particles which is spoiling the finish. I've tried thinning the paint with thinners using various amounts of thinner and I've tried being very sparing when applying the paint to the surface. However many parts of thinner to paint I prepare, it makes no difference. It also makes no difference if I wash the model with soapy water. I've even changed my brushes. Just to add, the paint is properly stirred.
This problem does not happen with Matt paint.
Any thoughts would be welcome.
Thanks,

Steven000

WWII and nuts.
SMF Supporter
First Name
Steven
Could you give us some more information of the type/brand you are using?

Or maybe a picture of your model if possible

B

BCALMAN

Hi, thanks for responding, I'm currently using Humbrol Gloss 19 (red).

zuludog

SMF Supporter
Does this happen with any of your other tins of gloss paint? Or only with that particular tin of paint?
If it is only with that one tin I can think of two possible explanations -

A few years ago Humbrol transferred or contracted out their manufacture to foreign parts, and after complaints even they agreed that the quality had gone down. Now production has been brought back to Britain and the quality is back to a high standard
You might just have an older, duff batch of paint

It could literally be dust - perhaps plastic dust from storing your paints close to the bench where you work on your models. The dust will collect in the recessed rim of the tin, and can be transferred to the paint as you open & stir it. The answer is to religiously blow out the rim, or dust it with a cheapish soft brush every time you use it

The problem might happen with matt paint, but you wouldn't notice it

The answer in each case is to cut your losses and buy a new tin