H&S Ultra vs Evolution

K

karoliens

Hi,

I am planing to buy a new airbrush. Until now I was using Chinese which was included when I bought compressor.
Can not decide if I should buy Ultra or Evolution. I already know all the differences and assume that the brushing quality is the same. I actually think that plug type cup on Ultra is better than screw type cup on Evolution. On the other hand Evolution is easier to clean and has more needle size options?
It will be my second airbrush and I am a beginner. I will be spraying vallejo model air acrylics and enamels.
Should I buy Ultra or is it worth to take Evolution instead?

J

Jens Andrée

I bought an Ultra in the beginning of the summer and my only regret is that I didn't buy an Infinity instead.
Don't get me wrong, the Ultra is a very good "basic" airbrush, but it's a Volvo. It gets you from A to B, but via C can be troublesome...
The Evolution is a step up in quality for sure, but you only have to add a bit more and you've got the Infinity.

If you're doing a lot of painting with detail then buy the Evolution or the Infinity instead of the Ultra and then getting a new airbrush - again - in six months ;)

That's my opinion as an Ultra owner who's just about to buy an Infinity...

A

Airfix Modeller Freak

I would say go and get yourself an Infinity or even better, an Iwata High Performance+, or the Iwata Hi Line HP CH

P

phikoleoputra

Hei Karolis,

I bought the Evolution Silverline 2 in 1 few years back, nice airbrush. But then My workhorse Olympos airbrush HP-100C Is still much better IMHO, then I bought their MP-200C and it’s an amazing piece of airbrush. Now I use the H&S mainly fo priming because you can change the nozzle to 0.4mm

J

Jens Andrée