Help please.

First Name
Andrew
Hi, I am new to this. I am retired and apart from a couple of very basic models in my youth, I have never modelled.

I have bought a basic tool kit, mat and cement but am still to decide what type of models to concentrate on although aircraft or cars are my current favourites.

Do I need to think about the scale at this stage? I assume that the beginners kits are generally a certain scale? What about after that?

Should I buy some acrylic paints yet? I think I've read that beginners kits may come with paints or is this incorrect? If I need to buy some, is there a basic set of colours that I should get? Probably a difficult question to answer as I appreciate this may depend on model type, era etc.

I think I read in another thread that a trip to Hobbycraft to look at kits (at least for a first purchase) would be helpful as they hold a decent range.

Are there particular brands to go for or to avoid?

Apologies for the number of questions. Any general help for a beginner would be gratefully received.

Thanks.

JR

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Firstly welcome to the forum Andrew.
Depending on your sight with out buying an optovisor of which there are many to choose from https://duckduckgo.com/?q=optivisor+magnifiers&t=chromentp&atb=v1-1&iax=images&ia=images
There are some who model in larger scale like 1/12 1/20 and mainly do busts and motor cycles,
I do 1/35 but use an optovisor, 1/72 is also popular , but smaller and there more fiddley.
Tamiya are good kits, they tend to go together well .
As for paints, many use Tamiya, but suggest you would need some ventilation. I use acrylics, there are hundred's of colours to chose from .
As to having a selection of colours, I would think it depends on what kit you are going to build, you can buy sets for aircraft and for a countries tanks.Those paints that come with those Airfix kits I think are enamel, so you would need thinners as well.