John
Welcome Ed.
Sure you will enjoy your time with us .

Ed Sunder

SMF Supporter
First Name
Ed
Wow! Thanks for the welcome! I wanted active and here it is. :smiling3:

In terms of where 3D printing is going, particularly with resin, it's hard to say. I've done things that require significant magnification to see any layer lines - a shot of primer and you're good - and I can manufacture some parts that could not be made in a traditional plastic mold without tremendous expense. However, while I think the cast resin market is likely in the biggest danger, I'm not sure it takes over PE just because photo etch is SO thin. If I do missile fins at scale in 3D resin, they are floppy and actually somewhat see-through. With PE, they will be nice and strong and super thin. The biggest downsides of resin 3D printing are 1) mess - there is no way to adequately describe how messy it is 2) smell - get used to the smell of Isopropyl alcohol and resin and 3) complexity - I'm a software developer with lots of 3D design experience so I have some advantages.

So I really look at this as a golden time for modelling - there are so, so many options for us!

I'm planning on taking some photos tonight and adding to the Aircraft Under Construction section soon!

Thanks!

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
I'm a software developer with lots of 3D design experience so I have some advantages.

Welcome to the forum Ed.

The software and designing is THE biggest part that baffles me. I have something i really want to design but watching the videos on Youtube just confuses me even more lol

Ed Sunder

SMF Supporter
First Name
Ed
Welcome to the forum Ed.

The software and designing is THE biggest part that baffles me. I have something i really want to design but watching the videos on Youtube just confuses me even more lol