How do I make a ship hull from plastic?

A

Alpine Skier

Hi

I'm totally new to modelling and I have always wanted to build a cutaway model of a ship showing the internal details, cabins, engine room etc.

What is the best way of making the hull? Could I carve out a block of MDF in the shape of my hull and coat it with a plastic casting resin then when its set pull the plastic hull off the wood? If so what is the cheapest resin kits available? I know polyurethane ones are quite expensive and don't keep long.

The only other option is to use metal and panel beat it around my hull shape former, is that a popular method for model making?

Any other ideas please.

First Name
Aaron
From what I've seen on "garage kits" most are moulded from a clay master then resin casted, sorry I can't be more help as this is waaaaayyyyy out of my league.

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Which type of ship or boat have you in mind?

The best way to build a boat from scratch is the same way as a real one just not the same materials. You could build one plank on frame using plastic sheet instead of wood, if you are after a steel hulled boat.

To get the basic idea, have a search for "plank on frame boats".

Ian M

D

Dave Garrett

what about buying a kit of the boat that you want and hacking into it where you want people to see the internals have a look at this link for inspiration

http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?/topic/234929377-172-revell-corvette-snowberry/

D

Dave Garrett

you would need to do some serious research into the ship that you are building try and get hold of a reference book on the ship you are building the anatomy of a ship collection of books is very good but they only have a select few ships

D

Dave Garrett

i know that revell do a cutaway model of a submarine but i don't know the name of it and that would be a good start

B

Billy