ICM 1/35 Sd.Kfz. 247 Ausf. B

• Thread starter Deleted member 7181
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 7181

The shape of this vehicle caught my eye. Quite futuristic looking and could probably lend itself well to a Sci-Fi kitbash / conversion in the future.

It's my first time with an ICM kit so wasn't sure what to expect, but so far, so good. A few areas where there seems to be more parts than necessary but I guess that adds to the parts count and helps to extend the build time.

dyyi4TO.jpg

In the box we have 5 sprues, 2 being identical. A clear sprue with a full set of windows (assumedly for a future variant), 4 rubber tyres and a small decal sheet. The moulding looks nice and crisp, and whilst there are quite a few tiny parts they have plenty of space around them, and not too may attachment points, so removal shouldn't be too difficult.

YawZBUC.jpg

W6f1iWt.jpg

One bit that seemed a bit OTT was the suspension. It is very nicely detailed but with 8 springs of 2 different types moulded in 2 halves they took a bit of care and clean up.

nnh4GmM.jpg

But once together it looks good. From underneath

F7i7l7R.jpg

And from the top

XeEB1lU.jpg

The wheels went on next, although I left the tyres off for easy painting, and also the engine. This is completely hidden on the finished model which is a shame, so I may think about leaving a hatch open so at least you can see a bit of it.

U4A80H7.jpg

Then the body was assembled (a perfect fit by the way) and mounted, with more gubbins fitted underneath like the prop shafts and linkages for 4 wheel steering.

Mt2KdKa.jpg

BdKpH6t.jpg

You can just about make out in that picture, top left, that the lever damper for the front spring is missing. Hopefully that'll keep the carpet monster satisfied and it won't want any of the more visible parts.