Italeri Elco PT

Jostro65

SMF Supporter
First Name
Ritchie
Hi all, at the risk of duplicating/resurrecting old threads here but can't find what I'm looking for.
Got a hold of one of these kits and looking at motorising it rather than having just the static model. I've had some experience of r/c but not recent.
I'm aware there are kits for the extras needed on eBay for a lot of money, yet any I've seen are incomplete, no motors, speed controllers, some with all the brass but no electrics etc.
I do have some radio equipment and motors/escs from my drones but I'm really not sure where to start.
I can get props/shafts/bearings pre built (and quite a lot more) on the Chinese sites like AliExpress a great deal cheaper than can be had in the UK.
If possible I would like to re-use what I can as money is tight, I've seen other threads referring to this kit but they are quite old and things in the RC world have moved on tremendously since they were done.
If anyone has any recent experience of motorising one of these, or can give me any pointers in which way to go id be very grateful.
Thanks in advance!

JR

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Think fitting engines and motors into a ship seems to be full of problems
Think @boatman is the man to ask .

boatman

SMF Supporter
First Name
christopher
WELL FROM your start blog im not sure what you want to know ? as it seems to me you know all about the subject ? but put it clear here what you want to know ? chrisb

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Basicly to make the Boat RC, or any boat for that matter you will need:
A radio sender - Transmitter. 2 channel could do it, 4 will do it. more channels more fun.
A receiver . matched to the sender and with the required number of channels.