Jase's American Gunboat Arrow

J

Jase

Hello all, this is my first build diary on this forum i thought I would open shop with a wooden ship build by Amati (I will be launching a stunning plastic kit build very soon too so keep your eyes out). The kit does not look to challenging, as the hull planking is simple and uninterrupted, but I think the model will look rather cool when done.

IMG_1865.jpg

IMG_1866.jpg

The Kit has a lot of parts all of the usual Amati quality. wood is good quality and the hull is double planked. a particularly nice touch is the addition of the launch slip as a display stand.

IMG_1867.jpg

Construction starts with construction of a jig that allows the drilling of two 5mm holes at an angle for the two masts.

IMG_1869.jpg

IMG_1871.jpg

Next step is to remove and clean all the ribs. this Kit does not use the more usual method of slotting ribs into a real that is common in more modern kits, so there is a lot of marking up to do to ensure positioning is correct to the plans.

IMG_1868.jpg

Jase

F

Fenlander

Only ever built one wooden ship, a Billings Crab Fishing Boat. I have to say that I really enjoyed the build and enjoyed the woodworking but I just wasn't good enough to make a good job of it. Loads of respect for you guys who can build these well.

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
wil be watching this one cos ive always fancied doing a wooden boat like this

P

Polux

This one will be a very interesting thread.... ;)

As others said, all my respect for you that can build wooden kits :smiling3:

J

Jase

Thanks all for the comments. Interested in the 'wood' kit comments. so I will talk through some of the method to prove how easy this can be. usually the problem is people start on a kit thats just to complex and this kit is defiantly ok for beginners with model building experience in other mediums.

Jase

J

Jase