Kerploosh! An attempt at a 1/72 'Splash'

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
The thread by Steven (Dulux) about creating explosions and the like, set me off (see wot I rote there!)

I needed a break from scribing yet more bricks for my houses thingy, so this morning I sat down and had a go at modelling a Hurricane hitting the sea.
I've tried to model the aircraft breaking up on impact, just before it vanishes in spray.

I used toilet roll, cushion stuffing and a bit of silicone.

Bearing in mind it's my first attempt at such things, any thoughts? As long as they are physically possible and don't hurt, I'll take note.....:fearful:

P1320006 (3).JPG

P1320007 (2).JPG

P1320010 (2).JPG

P1320012 (2).JPG

P1320013 (2).JPG

Cheers.
Ron

David Lovell

SMF Supporter
First Name
David
Can't wait to see your second attempt Ron fantastic captures that split second in time perfectly well done that man. Not that it demeans your modeling skills in anyway but you also know how to handle a camera. Once again great stuff thanks for sharing. Dave

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
The effect looks convincing Ron. The water surface in particular is excellent. The only thing a little jarring is the water plume behind the plane in pictures 2 and 4. If the plane was travelling forward then the water displacement, and thus the splash, would be to the front. As it is it looks a little like the plane hit the sea going backwards :thumb2:

papa 695

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Cracking work Ron,
For the splashes I've seen on youtube that some people use something like scenic water on the cotton wool so it doesn't look too stringy. But I've never done it myself.
Seeing this though it looks like something I will try at some point. Once again cracking work.

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Thanks chaps for the positive, humorous suggestions and comments.