Large Scale AN-22 build...

S

Saul Sheldon

Hi all

It must be one of the biggest aircraft kits around and I have had one in my stash for a while now, and I have finally started it

Yes folks it's the A-Model 1/72 An-22 "Cock"

Dunno if I will do it in one go, but I will try and keep you all updated just in case some of you really have nothing better to do than to look at someone elses "Cock" (Who said NATO was a humourless organisation?)(the serbians, maybe)

Right, sorry about the jokes, but I have a childish sense of humour, a neccesity since i work in the biulding trade.

1st photo, the completed cockpit, no fuss, get it painted and slide into nose section.

2nd shows a page from the instructions showing a shedload of very small pieces which should keep me away from childcare duties for a bit...

3rd a general view the fuselage and one piece wing are fibreglass resin, the interior walls are vac form sheets folded to a tune and slid in very clever. The kit is nearly 600 pieces, and VERY big. I think at the time the An-22 was the largest aircraft in the world, and is still the largest propeller plane.

4th is a pic of the sprues for the four engines alone.

The idea is to keep you lucky folks regularly updated with this minor project, so lets hope this site is still going in 2013...

cheers, saul

View attachment 19406

View attachment 19407

View attachment 19408

View attachment 19409

006.jpg

007.jpg

008.jpg

009.jpg

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
hi saul,good luck with the an22(600 parts!!!!!) its going to be a monster,i bet its heavy too with that resin fuselage,good job its got loads of wheels to help distribute the weight! Nice to see some more obscure russian stuff too,ill be following this with interest. cheers tony

S

Saul Sheldon

Hi Tony (and everyone else)

Thanks for your comments!

Here are some more pics. If it seems I have made little progress, It's because I haven't