Malayan Emergency 1/35 scale.

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
Hi, I'm currently re-hashing a dio I have left idle for years and it's about a jungle police truck stopping at a bridge to check a suspicious clump of branches sticking out from the road ahead of the bridge suspecting an ambush.
This scene is in the late 40's early 50's during the First Malayan Emergency between the British Colonials and the Communist Terrorists.
The weapons of the time were a mix of pre and post WW2 material such as the Bren, Stens, Webley's and the newer Sterling and Jungle Enfields. I have almost all the weapons except the Jungle Enfield or carbine in kit form. So I will make them so I'll start with it...

I've had some experience in scratching weapons by utilising parts from existing guns. It ought to look like these examples below. Basically a shortened version of the Mk.4 Enfield...

E1.jpg

Searched in my stash for Mk.4's and found these three I had painted and mothballed.

E2.jpg

Soon I stretched som sprue to the right gauge and sliced equal lengths and cone shaped three from larger rods. I sliced the enfield and scraped a portion of the wooden grip. and glued the parts together.

E3.jpg

I managed one with the barrel sight guards needing a little trimming. Have also shortened the butt and rounded the edges. Another two more to go...

E4.jpg

Next 45 mins and another is done. Stopping now for dinner and resting my eyes.

E5.jpg

I hope to take some shots of the dio after I have dusted it.

Cheers,
Richard

Airborne01

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Hi, I'm currently re-hashing a dio I have left idle for years and it's about a jungle police truck stopping at a bridge to check a suspicious clump of branches sticking out from the road ahead of the bridge suspecting an ambush.
This scene is in the late 40's early 50's during the First Malayan Emergency between the British Colonials and the Communist Terrorists.