Need a face mask

BattleshipBob

Bob, bob, bobing along!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Afternoon

I need a new paint spraying mask, my cheapy one is not upto spraying lacquer, have started to smell the paint.

Any recommendations?? Have been looking at a 3m 6002 series

Thanks bob

slupanter

SMF Supporter
First Name
Alexander
I am a Lacquer painter too. Curious in what people recommend, I have a Force 8 Half Mask Twin Respirator FM-F8-A1P2 with pair of A1P2 filters and I still get gassed.

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Just make sure whatever you get has A1 organic vapour and P2 particulate protection as a minimum and you’ll be fine Bob. Andy’s recommendations all meet that spec. I’ve got the 3M one and I can spray lacquer for a couple of hours and still smell nothing....mind you, my sense of smell is not as acute as it was before I had Covid :tongue-out3:

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Hi Alexander. Those spec of cartridges should be fine. Does the mask fit properly (is this seal leak rather than filter breakthrough) or do you have facial hair? Just asking because face masks are designed to fit properly on clean shaven people only....filters don't last forever either. How old are yours?

BattleshipBob

Bob, bob, bobing along!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Just make sure whatever you get has A1 organic vapour and P2 particulate protection as a minimum and you’ll be fine Bob. Andy’s recommendations all meet that spec. I’ve got the 3M one and I can spray lacquer for a couple of hours and still smell nothing....mind you, my sense of smell is not as acute as it was before I had Covid :tongue-out3:
Excellent, thanks Tim!

slupanter

SMF Supporter
First Name
Alexander