Need help with WW2 British Tank Crew uniform colour

Mr Bowcat

SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Morning guys. :smiling3:

I'm in a quandary, I'm building the Tamiya Achilles (which technically is artillery) which comes with a very nice set of figures. The instructions call out for XF-60 Dark Yellow for the uniforms.

1.jpg
However, looking at the Tamiya web page for this kit, the picture of the figures shows a more greener colour.

2.png

I did a search for British Tank crew (I'm assuming the artillery wore the same colour uniforms??) and came up with a Panzer Aces colour which on their website looks like this.

3.jpg

However, when looking to buy this the colour swatch shown looks like this.

4.jpg

Which is obviously much browner.

So now I don't know what to do. I have a good selection of Tamiya paints so ideally would prefer to mix something myself. However I'm not very good at doing this by eye, so a formula for the right colour would be much appreciated, failing which an idea on what off the shelf paint would be close enough.

Any advice gratefully received.

Cheers,

B

Jack L

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jack
I have always gone for a Khaki Drab for British Uniforms (XF-51 in Tamya), although I am sure someone will say that is incorrect. I have never been too bothered by accuracy, just what looked right to me.

Mr Bowcat

SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Cheers Jack. :smiling3:

I have XF-51 so that would be an easy option. Like you I'm not obsessed with perfect colour matches, but the Dark Yellow just didn't seem right.

Windy

SMF Supporter
First Name
Alex
Morning guys. :smiling3:

I'm in a quandary, I'm building the Tamiya Achilles (which technically is artillery) which comes with a very nice set of figures. The instructions call out for XF-60 Dark Yellow for the uniforms.

View attachment 376566
However, looking at the Tamiya web page for this kit, the picture of the figures shows a more greener colour.

View attachment 376567