need help

G

gbetteley

I am new to modeling and am hoping someone can help me.

Is there something I am doing wrong when applying the paint job? This is my procedure

1: I apply a primer coat

2: 2-3 mist coats applied 20 min apart wait 2 hrs then wet sand using 1200 sand grit.

3: 1 wet coat wait 24hrs.

4: 1 more wet coat wait another 24hr.

5: 2 mist coats of clear coat 20 min apart

6: 1 wet coat clear coat wait 24hr.

7: 1 more wet coat of clear coat wait 3-4 days before handling.

The reason I am asking is because no matter how nice the paint job looks when assembling I always get smudges or fingerprints on the surface that I can not get off.

Is there a trick to this?

Here are the materials I am using

airbrush,tamiya extra fine surface primer, Tamiya spray paint, Tamiya or alclad clear coat.

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
This may seem a bit obvious but was is it that you are painting?

I can't see anything wrong with the painting schedule,in fact it is more elaborate that mine. It does seem that you are assembling whatever you are building after painting.

I'm sure we will get to the bottom of this.

Cheers

Steve

D

dubster72

As Steve said, it might be helpful to know what it is that you're building. Also, have you tried latex gloves? I wear them all the time both during the build & painting stages as hands have so much dirt, oil & grease that we can't see but will leave a residue that can react badly with paint.

Personally, I think your painting stages are perhaps a little over-zealous unless it's am automotive model that needs real depth in the paintwork. You could easily lose a mist & wet coat.

Cheers

Patrick

G

gbetteley

Model cars right now it is a 1/12 scale Lola. And you are correct I am assemblying after painting. Usually during the assembly process is when I get the fingerprints or smudges. When I say fingerprints I mean the oily residue that settles while handling. I even tried using rubber gloves but that still left marks.