Need some advice on weathering products

C

CrazyDan

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the large scale of weathering products that are around these days. So I thought, I'll gather some information and this forum seemed like a nice place to start.

Firstly I'm currently building a fairly large project which includes Trumpeters Morser Karl Gerat and Trumpeters BR52 Krielgslokomotive. I've had a look around to get an idea on what others have done to paint and weather their versions of the models. I've found a few images I'd like to use as a reference point, which I've put in the spoiler below. But I'm very unsure on what products I'd use for various parts. For example, the rust, dirt and grim areas.

Does anyone have any suggestions on which products I should take a look at? And any brushes or tools I'd need to help with the weathering process.

Thanks Dan.

55f13585b70f6.jpg

55f135a100bf5.jpg

br-52-kriegslok-trumpeter.jpg

2060-27582.jpg

D

dubster72

Hi Dan & welcome to the forum.

I think it's very difficult to answer your questions in a concise way, simply because in the last few years so many weathering products have come onto the market.

Companies like Vallejo, AK Interactive, Ammo by Mig have really revolutionised the weathering field. And of course everyone has their own personal favourite!

So if you have deep pockets & don't mind buying stuff to experiment with, I'd advise getting some of those products & trying them out. I've not personally used any, but some people swear by them.

What I use is oils & artists pastels to create these effects. A decent set of both will set you back about £40 & last for years. A set of AK Interactive rust effects is around £18 alone... you can see where I'm going with this ;)

In the interests of fairness, the advantages of ready-made products are convenience & saving time.

To give you an idea of what's possible using my method, here's some pictures of the exhaust of a Panzer IV
20161218_113740.jpg 20161218_113622.jpg