Newbie paint problem?

First Name
Stu
Hi all, not sure if anybody can offer some advice please. I have just "re started", and decided to have a practice on a basic model (Airfix Red Arrows starter kit), before moving on to something a little more exotic.

I have cleaned all the plastic as previously advised, (warm water, washing up liquid). I have applied some of the acrylic red which was provided with the kit. Initially it seems to "wipe off" as soon as I applied it. However I left it alone to dry assuming I would need another coat or two, but after re-painting the 2nd coat it does not seem to add any extra "depth" of colour?....ie you can still clearly see the "grey" (original) colour of the plastic underneath?

I have never used acrylic before. Do I need to use a primer first? (If so should this be a red primer?) Could the paint have "gone off? (I gave it a good mix before application). At the mo I am just practicing on the "underside/none visible" part of the plastic.

many thanks for any advice.. :smiling3:

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Red paint is inherently transparent in nature Stu. It will show the underlying plastic. I would prime first with a red primer and then expect to put on three or more coats of red to get a good depth of colour. Don’t be tempted to put the red paint on too thick, it won’t help and will just leave brush marks and obscure detail. Thin multiple layers are the way to go. Good luck!

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
a primer would definatly help........gives the paint something to adhere to

is this an airfix starter kit with those little pots of paint?.........cos they are rubbish to use

and as tim has said, red is a not the best colour for coverage

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David
Stu,