Newbie wanting to make a Douglas C 47. Bad idea?

A

AceAndroid

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to modeling. I have only made three models: a Lindberg brand SE5a, a Lindberg brand Stearman PT-17, and a BanDai Stormtrooper kit. While I've only made three kits, I am feeling pretty comfortable, especially since my first models were biplanes, which I was told are difficult to make.

My dream project is to make a Douglas C 47, complete with D-Day invasion stripes and everything. I know C 47s are much larger kits and most have a lot of interior detail that I have no experience with. I was just wondering, would it be a good idea to take on a kit like that at this stage in my modeling hobby? Or would it be likely that I would mess it up and waste my time/money?

If it is a good idea, I was wondering which brand of kit would be recommended. I can only find C 47s on Amazon, and they offer three brands: Airfix, Roden, and Italeri. Which of these kits would be best for someone like me? Is there a difference in quality or skill level? Are there other online retailers where I could get a kit like this (maybe for cheaper than on Amazon)?

Thank you!

A

Awins

I would go ahead and build the C47 regardless. The only way to learn and gain experiance is to practice. The more you build the more you will learn so why not build the kit that you fancy. Enjoy building that is what counts and further down the line you could always build another. I cant advise on choice of kit im affraid buy im sure other members on here may be able to. Enjoy the C47 cheers

D

demon

Hi I would go ahead and give it a go I have built the 72 scale italeri kit the fit is very good but the decals are the wrong size for the code letter and number on the side of the fuselage having said that this is the kit I would go for again

Roger

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony