note to self..... think first!!

S

stuart.c.82

As a usual noob I've gone in like a bull in a China shop!

Carefully read some instructions... Looked for the parts on the frame, took some off gently and sanded the excess away. Then realised I have no idea of what numbers they were.

Lucky I only did half a dozen bits.. slowing down now.. one bit at a time.... To the local art shop after work me thinks for supplies! :D

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
That can be even more of an issue with similar parts which are 'handed' like undercarriage components of some aircraft for example. When I remove parts like this from the sprue I stick them in Blu-Tac on a sheet of paper with the number beside them. Larger parts or even sub-assemblies, I mark with their number on a little piece of tape.

My advice to anyone building a model can be summed up in three words, patience...patience...patience.

Cheers

Steve

First Name
Robert
This is a pain in the proverbial so I normally mark the Indi part with a black marker and if it's iddy biddy I will mark a bit of tape the attach so I don't lose.

Recently I've started making notes too aswell so I know what is the right and left for example.

Hope this is of some help

Regards

Robert

S

stuart.c.82

\ said:
That can be even more of an issue with similar parts which are 'handed' like undercarriage components of some aircraft for example. When I remove parts like this from the sprue I stick them in Blu-Tac on a sheet of paper with the number beside them. Larger parts or even sub-assemblies, I mark with their number on a little piece of tape.
My advice to anyone building a model can be summed up in three words, patience...patience...patience.

Cheers

Steve
loving the bluetac idea!

It was engine parts and similar enough that if their were on the wrong way it won't show anyway. Glad I learnt the error early!

Do you guys paint on the sprue/always assemble then paint or bit of both/neither

F

Fenlander