Panzer Kampfwagen II Ausf. G

First Name
Jason
Hello All

Being new to modelling military subjects and not wanting to ruin my Command Car build I picked this up from my LHS to test some techniques on, my thought being, if it gets ruined I can use it as a practise piece.

Very few parts in the kit which I think is probably quite an old model. It was obviously a motorized kit at some point in history. It took about 2 hours yesterday to clean up and put together and I started painting this morning and here's where I am at the moment.

View attachment 84916

View attachment 84917

View attachment 84918

View attachment 84919

View attachment 84920

So far I've primed it with desert yellow aerosol primer then over coated with Tamiya dark yellow 60/40 with Tamiya thinner shot from my airbrush with a .75 needle. I then thinned the dark yellow a little more and added a couple of drops of red brown and swapped to a .30 needle. Then I used this mix to darken all of the vertical surfaces and outline out all of the hatch edges and angle changes. Sticking with the .30 needle I added some neutral grey to the mix and freehanded the camo.

To my eye it looks OK so far (Don't shoot me if the colours aren't entirely accurate for the DAK I don't have a huge pallet of these colours yet so I'm working with what I have;)), not sure if it needs a bit more shading work though?

It's at this point that I'm not sure which way to go:confused:! I was thinking now is the time to coat it with Klear then I can add the decals and a wash with some burnt sienna oil and all of the chipping/weathering stuff happens after that?? Sound right to you guys?

Anyway thanks for looking

Jason

DSC_0263.JPG

DSC_0258.JPG

DSC_0260.JPG

DSC_0261.JPG

DSC_0262.JPG

D

dubster72