Please help.

scottie3158

SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
Hi all I need help, we know that I can hear you cry. I am having real issues with using my airbrushes. I never seem to be able to get the balance right of paint thickness and air pressure. I use an Iawata and a steenbach and have the same issues with both so I know its not them at fault.
The first as you can see from the picture is spidering I was trying to spray really thin lines one second it sprays a perfect 1-2mm line then its starts to spider or splutter or stop completely.
The other issue is the airbrushes stop spraying but when you release the trigger it sprays a bit operate the trigger and it stops release the trigger and its sprays a small amount.
This is the spidering

DSCF2009.JPG

I usually use Valejo paints but have also tried Tamyia and get the same results.

Any help or pointers will be greatfully received, I am pulling my hair out.

cheers
Scottie

Jack L

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jack
I am far from an expert, or even a proficient user, but I have had the spidering when my air pressure from the compressor has been too high in relation to the distance from the model I am spraying at...so very close for thin lines.

In terms of thinning...I have no clue and found this the biggest reason for my own airbrush fails when I have tried to thin myself. I therefor go exclusively for 'ready to spray' paints, which give me much more consistent results (Vallejo Air, Mig and MRP have all given me great results).

Other members will definitely be able to help more!

scottie3158

SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
I am far from an expert, or even a proficient user, but I have had the spidering when my air pressure from the compressor has been too high in relation to the distance from the model I am spraying at...so very close for thin lines.